Clarissa’s Conversation with God

 

 

Woman, Person, Female, Young, Actress, Suit, Epoch

The above CC0 image comes courtesy of Pixabay.com

 

 

The following is a conversational drama piece between God and a believer who feels she is just too busy to pray.

 

DAY 1:

Anonymous Speaker:     Hey! Are you busy?

Clarissa:                                Can’t you see that I am? What do you want?

Anonymous Speaker:     I’d just like to spend some time with you!

Clarissa:                                Oh! Well sorry, I’m just too busy!

Anonymous Speaker:     Anything I can help you with?

Clarissa:                                I can manage, thank you.

Anonymous Speaker:     So what are you doing?

Clarissa:                                Well, I’m trying to make my life a success.

Anonymous Speaker:     Okay. Well I can help you with that.

Clarissa:                                Hmmm. I don’t really see how you can.

Anonymous Speaker:     Just spend some time with me.

Clarissa:                                Look, I’ve already told you, I don’t have the time (mutters under breath), or the inclination!  I’ve got places to go, people to see, a life to live, so I really can’t spare the time to talk right now.

 

SIX MONTHS LATER:

Clarissa:                                Oh God, my life’s a complete mess. Help me!

Anonymous Speaker:     What’s wrong?

Clarissa:                                Where do I begin? (starts crying)

Anonymous Speaker:     Just tell me what’s wrong.

Clarissa:                                I’ve fallen out with my best friend and my boyfriend  dumped me last week. I hate my job but I’ve a mortgage to pay and now my ex wants to move out of our flat. How on earth will I manage?

Anonymous Speaker:     And you are telling me this now because…?

Clarissa:                                Well, you’re God aren’t you? I need you to do something! I need your help. I want you to get me out of this mess. I have nobody else to turn to.

Anonymous Speaker:     Well now, let me see. Did you set up a prayer account?

Clarissa:                                What’s that?

Anonymous Speaker:     It’s a type of Investment account. You invest time into building a relationship with me, so that when situations like this occurs, you can have peace and confidence in me, instead of feeling stressed and angry, like you are now.

Clarissa:                                Sorry. I didn’t realise that. I don’t have such an account. Does that mean you can’t, or won’t help me?

Anonymous Speaker:     Of course not! But because you have not invested into a consistent prayer life, your capacity to trust me is not where it could or should be.

Clarissa:                                But I do trust you!

Anonymous Speaker:     Do you?

Clarissa:                                Y-es.

Anonymous Speaker:     You don’t seem too sure there. Will you trust me despite what your circumstances look like, and trust that I know what’s best for you, even should I not answer your prayers in the way that you’d like, or as quickly as you’d like?

Clarissa:                                I have no choice! So, will you help me or not?

Anonymous Speaker:     What do you think?

Clarissa:                                I know you can. I’m not confident though that you will.

Anonymous Speaker:     And why is that?

Clarissa:                                Because I’ve neglected you all this time. Because I’ve not been truly appreciative of your blessings. Because when my life was tickety boo, I acted as if I was self-sufficient and didn’t really need you. Because I ignored that niggling feeling in my gut, which tried to warn me that if I continued to consign you to the back burner of my life, I’ll be sorry.

Anonymous Speaker:     And are you?

Clarissa:                                Yes. I am. Truly sorry.

Anonymous Speaker:     And why else?

Clarissa:                                Pardon?

Anonymous Speaker:     Is there any other reason why you don’t feel confident that I will help you?

Clarissa:                                Only that I don’t deserve it. I’ve sinned. My ex should not have been living with me. I knew it was wrong and I knew that this was at odds with your Word and with my claim to be a Christian, yet I still went ahead and did it anyway. I compromised big time!

Anonymous Speaker:     My dear Clarissa, have you forgotten what my Word says you should do whenever you fall into sin? All you have to do is repent (i.e. be remorseful and change direction), and ask for my forgiveness.

I am willing to forgive and I am willing to cleanse you. That’s what grace means. It means I am prepared to extend my unconditional love and mercy towards you, no matter what you’ve done. You do not have to “deserve” it!

Clarissa:                                Father God, please forgive me. Cleanse me. Help me.

Anonymous Speaker:     How do you feel now?

Clarissa:                                All warm and peaceful inside. Forgiven and cleansed. Prepared to trust you. Hopeful of my future.

Anonymous Speaker:     I am so happy to hear this my child. Your investment account is now open. Keep topping it up and watch your confidence in me grow. Watch your life straighten out, as you make consistent spiritual deposits.

Clarissa:                                O Thank you Father God! You are so gracious Heavenly Father. Why on earth did I think I could live my life without your help? I recommit myself into your hands. I am re-inviting Jesus to reign and govern my life according to your purpose. And I’m asking your Holy Spirit to come alongside me and help me to live a life that glorifies you.

Anonymous Speaker:     My dear child, it will be my utmost pleasure to see you grow and develop and pursue your destiny in Christ. Meanwhile, do enjoy the benefits of your salvation and the pleasures of my kingdom.

©Carol Hind – July 2020

—–oooooo000oooooo—–

 

FOR RELEVANT ADDITIONAL READING:

A love letter from your Father (click here)

 

QUESTION:

Are you too busy to pray, to spiritually invest into your future?

With love,

Carol (aka Lady Cee)

 

If you’d like to purchase a resource that will help and encourage you to develop a consistent and confident prayer life, don’t hesitate to check out the links below.

 

AMAZON UK https://amzn.to/3ciUt1q

AMAZON US https://amzn.to/3bj6gM1

 

Did you enjoy reading this post? If so, please share your thoughts in a comment box below. Do you know someone who would benefit from its message? Then please don’t hesitate to share it. Thank you.

 

2 thoughts on “Clarissa’s Conversation with God

    1. Thank you Michelle for reading and taking the time to leave your comment. I’m glad you enjoyed and that it caused you to stop and think. Whenever, I do something that is a departure from the normal blog post, it makes me feel nervous wondering how it will be received. So your comment is an encouragement and blessing to me today. Thank you!

      Liked by 2 people

So what do you think? Share your thoughts