Posted in Blog posts

A Celebration of Motherhood and Tribute to my Mother

MotherChild(OmarMedinaFilms)-951187_960_720

 Image credit: Omar Medina Films at Pixabay.com

 

Today is Mothers Day, or Mothering Sunday in the UK. I’d like to take this time to celebrate Mothers and Motherhood. I’d like to take this opportunity to pay special tribute to my mum, who is the dearest of all mothers (forgive me for my bias).

 

A mother – when you’re a child she walks before you to set an example. When you’re a teenager she walks behind you to be there should you need her. When you’re an adult she walks beside you so that as two friends you can enjoy life together.

(Author unknown)

 

The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness. (Honoré de Balzac)

 

Earlier this week I read a newspaper article about pop singer Adele, who began her world tour in the UK at the end of last month.

The article reported on Adele’s surprise visit to a 12 year old girl in Belfast, Ireland, who suffers from cerebral palsy and epilepsy. This heart-warming act of kindness, captured in a photo of Adele smiling tenderly at her young fan lying in bed, whilst the girl (Rebecca) gazes up at the singer with adoring eyes, makes a cute human interest story indeed. The Brit Award winner’s impromptu visit so thrilled Rebecca’s mother that she remarked “…It’s made me feel like I’m the best mummy in the world”.

Well, I can fully understand why she would believe this but sorry – I beg to differ. The crown for ‘Best Mother in the World’ has already been awarded and this went to my mother! And, I have it on good authority that once awarded, this title is irrevocable.

My mum is the best mother any daughter, indeed any child could wish to have. I don’t know how much longer I will have to enjoy her company on this earth but whilst she is still around, I want to celebrate and serve her to the best of my ability. I love my mum to bits. She is 86 years old and was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease a few years ago.

When I was much younger, there were times that I did not celebrate my mum. I was rude and disrespectful both to her face and behind her back. How I regret this. How I wish I could claw back those unpalatable thoughts and words I’d dished up for my mother’s consumption. I was wrong and I was very much out of order!

One never knows what lies ahead of us. I never dreamt my mother would be any less than the active, capable and strong woman that she used to be. My mother was (still is) a god-fearing, prayerful woman of God, who loved and was most loyal to her pastor and fellow church members. She loved her children and regularly prayed for us. Ill? Prayer was her response. Discouraged, or depressed? Prayer was her response. At the end of our tether? Prayer was her response. Any adverse situation we encountered, or problem we confided, mum faithfully brought to the throne room of God.

As teenagers this was rarely appreciated. There would be eye-rolling from deep within the inner recesses of our unregenerate hearts. As young adults, we felt sheer embarrassment as we left the house for work and witnessed startled, or curious passers-by glancing up at my mum’s bedroom window because her voice, lifting up passionate pleas to God in prayer, could be heard.

But when I re-surrendered my life to Christ, how I appreciated this rich legacy of prayer. How I appreciated my mother’s induction into a spiritual climate and lifestyle of fervent intercession and prayer.

Mum is very family oriented. She celebrated our birthdays with lavish dinner parties, cooked up a mega-fest of culinary dishes at Christmas – year, after year, after year and was a supreme example of generous-hearted hospitality.

My mother may no longer be the woman she once was but as far as I am concerned she is one in a gazillion! Let me reiterate – my mum is the best (nay the bestest!) mother in the world!

 

A Mother’s Love

A Mother’s Love is like an island

In life’s ocean vast and wide,

A peaceful, quiet shelter

From the restless, rising tide …

A Mother’s Love is like a fortress

And we seek protection there

When the waves of tribulation

Seem to drown us in despair …

A Mother’s Love’s a sanctuary

Where our souls can find sweet rest

From the struggle and the tension

Of Life’s fast and futile quest …

A Mother’s Love is like a tower

Rising far above the crowd,

And her smile is like the sunshine

Breaking through a threatening cloud …

A Mother’s Love is like a beacon

Burning Bright with Faith and Prayer,

And through the changing scenes of life

We can find a Haven There …

For A Mother’s Love is fashioned

After God’s enduring love,

It is endless and unfailing

Like the love of Him above …

For God knew in His great wisdom

That He couldn’t be Everywhere,

So He put His Little Children

In a Loving Mother’s care.

(Author unknown)

 

Happy Mother’s Day mum!

May the Lord bless you and keep you. May he make his face shine upon you. May he be gracious to you and give you peace. Amen.

(Adapted from Numbers 6:24-26).

 

Author:

First and foremost, I am a committed follower of Christ and as long as God’s breath remains in me, I aim to live a purpose-driven life. Like most aspiring writers, I love reading and the creative buzz of word-weaving. I’d like to consider myself as a word-artist. I’m fascinated by and admire the way skilled writers use words to craft stories, to educate, to positively influence and inspire others. I aspire to do the same. Having long-cherished a desire to vacate my prior position as once-in-a-blue-moon writer and join the ranks of published authors (albeit self-published), I’m working towards becoming a prolific writer, whose words are feted, followed and feasted upon by fans and word connoisseurs. Confession time – I used to be the queen of procrastination but have lately abdicated my throne. Unfortunately, my former subjects just won’t let me go (please pray for me!). I’m also a recovering perfectionist. Shush! Tell no one! Words are powerful! They have the potential to impart life or orchestrate death. And so my heart's desire is for the ultimate Creator and Wordsmith to use my writing gift for his glory, to infuse my words with his anointing, love and power. As a blogger, I write to encourage and inspire both myself and others—to maximise our potential and live our best lives.

3 thoughts on “A Celebration of Motherhood and Tribute to my Mother

So what do you think? Share your thoughts

